The Cole Creativity Center is a shared space where creativity is abundant, artists share and inspire, students discover and explore, imagination has no limit, all are welcome, and art builds community.


Classes at the Santa Paula Art Museum's Cole Creativity Center

In summer 2018, the Santa Paula Art Museum will launch a new Studio Art Program in its newly renovated Cole Creativity Center for children, teens, and adults! Teaching Artists will lead students in hands-on art projects where they will be introduced to various art materials, concepts, and techniques and build skills through creative and engaging activities.

Members of the Santa Paula Art Museum receive a 10% discount on all art classes. Just use the discount code MEMBER at checkout. To become a member, click here to visit our membership page.

Have questions or comments? Please call the Museum at (805) 525-5554, or email Curator of Creativity Meg Phelps at creativity@santapaulaartmuseum.org.


Classes for Children

Printmaking Techniques (Ages 10-13)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
SESSION 1 - Wednesday, October 3, 2018: 3:30pm to 5pm
SESSION 2 - Wednesday, October 10, 2018: 3:30pm to 5pm
SESSION 3 - Wednesday, October 17, 2018: 3:30pm to 5pm
SESSION 4 - Wednesday, October 24, 2018: 3:30pm to 5pm

Teaching Artist: Lisa Ann Mahony

Cost: $65.00/four-part series

 

Classes for Adults

The Cole Creativity Center's adult studio art program offers courses in a variety of media and topics, from one-time workshops to in-depth series. Courses are led by professional teaching artists and are designed for beginners as well as seasoned artists. Adult classes are open to all persons age 16 and over. The price of each course varies and space is limited. Select a course below for more information and to register online. Online registration is preferred. Having trouble registering online? Please call us at (805) 525-5554.

Monotypes Using Gelatin Plates (Ages 16 and Over)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
Session I: Friday, August 24, 2018: 7pm to 9pm (making plates)
Session II: Saturday, August 25, 2018: 5pm to 9pm (printmaking)

PLEASE NOTE: The class time for August 25 has been changed to 5-9 pm.

Teaching Artist: Gail Herscher

Cost: $80.00 for the 2-part series

Women Create! (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
Tuesday, September 11, 2018: 7pm to 9pm
Tuesday, October 9, 2018: 7pm to 9pm
Tuesday, November 13, 2018: 7pm to 9pm

Teaching Artist: Mary-Gail King

Cost: $35.00 per class

Collage Essentials (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Times:
Tuesday, September 18, 2018: 12pm to 2pm
Tuesday, October 16, 2018: 12pm to 2pm

Teaching Artist: Karen Browdy

Cost: $35.00/class

Personal Sculpture (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
Tuesday, October 2, 2018: 6pm to 9pm

Teaching Artist: Marianne McGrath

Cost: $40.00/class

Still Life in Oils (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
SESSION 1 - Thursday, October 4, 2018: 6pm to 9pm
SESSION 2 - Thursday, October 11, 2018: 6pm to 9pm
SESSION 3 - Thursday, October 18, 2018: 6pm to 9pm
SESSION 4 - Thursday, October 25, 2018: 6pm to 9pm

Teaching Artist: Ray Harris

Cost: $160.00/four-part series

Historic Photography Demonstration (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
Saturday, October 27, 2018: 10am to 1pm

Demonstrating Artist: Luther Gerlach

Cost: $50.00/demo

Exploring Yupo (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
Tuesday, November 6, 2018: 6pm to 9pm


Teaching Artist: Wana Klasen

Cost: $40.00/class

Personal Bookmaking (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
Saturday, November 17, 2018: 1pm to 4pm

Teaching Artist: Gail Herscher

Cost: $35.00/class

Suminagashi Workshop (Ages 16+)

Class Date(s)/Time(s):
Saturday, December 8, 2018: 12pm to 2pm

Teaching Artist: Lisa Ann Mahony

Cost: $35.00/class

 

Fall class schedule coming soon!